Online games in love2d

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
A-lox
Prole

Online games in love2d

Post by A-lox »

I am a complete beginner in this topic. :awesome:
I don't know where to start. :( I don't want to make anything complicated I want to send numbers from one PC to another. :ultrahappy:
test project: a clicker and I want to know all the clicks that have been clicked so far. :o:
or a game like cursor hangout (on replit link:https://replit.com/@TechPandaPro/Cursor-Hangout?v=1) :nyu:
something simple but I want to learn love2d networking with luasocket or something else. :D ^^ :awesome:
I need help with this topic a tutorial or documentation or a link to a wiki would be nice :ultrahappy: :| :oops:
Andlac028
Party member

Re: Online games in love2d

Post by Andlac028 »

You can follow this tutorial with explained networking with UDP.

There is also TCP and lua-enet. The difference is, that in UDP, you do nit have guaranteed, that client or server received message, but it is faster (used for example in streaming or online games, when you send a lot of data about position - if client wouldn’t receive first oacket, the it would receive another packets in some time).

In TCP, you have guaranteed that the client received it (or you get error when it is not received), but is is little slower, as it sends more oackets in background to verify, the client received it. It is used in applications, when you need to be sure client received content (for example www, mail, file transfer, …).

UDP and TCP are raw internet protocols used everywhere. Then you have enet, which is protocol on top of UDP with some enhancements (for example chcecking, if client really received the message), and if I remember correctly, it also packs tables automatically, so no need to worry about how to send tables. Documentation: lua-enet
Bigfoot71
Party member