fast time based event for generative music

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
jw_otto
Prole

fast time based event for generative music

Post by jw_otto »

Hi,
At first I want to thank the community for love2d, really like it!

I am a nerdy musician that likes to code.
Here is some of my music. The visuals where made with processing and a Kinect
https://vimeo.com/163467506

Now I am working on a game in love2d with generative music, but I can't get the timing exactly right.
musically I know what to do but programming wise I have al lot to learn.

the basic of my code looks something like this

Code: Select all

-- 16 note at 120 bpm
maxtime = 0.125

--measures
maxcounter = 4
switch = false

function update()

time = love.timer.getTime()%maxtime
if time >0 and time < maxtime/2 and switch == false then

-- play sound at first note 
if counter == 0 and switch == false then 
--playsound here
end

counter= (counter +1) %maxcounter

switch = true
end

if time > maxtime/2 then
	switch = false
end

end

download the full example here
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ll5knmipjk1m ... F93Pa?dl=0

I know this isn't the perfect way of doing it but I don't know a other one..
So my question is how can I do fast time based event te proper way ?
zorg
Party member

Re: fast time based event for generative music

Post by zorg »

Hello and welcome to the forums!
...also, my man, i'm your man :3

First, you have two choices:
1. Use a conf.lua and turn off vsync, since that limits how often love.update is called.
2. Use a separate thread for audio timing.
Both may have downsides, but the second one may be the better choice, since processing music in its own dedicated thread will ensure that nothing else can mess with its timing... that said, my projects still use the first.