Page 1 of 1
AnAL Love2D Help
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 10:56 pm
by SpooneyH20
When running the AnAL example listed at
http://leafo.net/love/wiki/anal.html I cant seem to get past this error.
Code: Select all
AnAL.lua:100: attempt to call field 'drawq' (a nil value)
Can anyone help fix this? Im on the latest version of Love
Re: AnAL Love2D Help
Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 12:10 am
by s-ol
AnAL is an old outdated library that doesn't work with new LÖVE versions anymore (unless someone patched it, but I don't think anyone did). bartbes even took it off the github that is linked in that wiki page.
You might want to consider using
anim8 instead.
Re: AnAL Love2D Help
Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:01 am
by bartbes
Let me fix that, AnAL is an old unmaintained library that does still work, but I suggest you don't use it. It was originally created to allow easier porting from 0.5.0 to 0.6.0. As for your error, you must be using a really old version, since that was fixed after the release of love 0.9.0, in December of 2013!
Re: AnAL Love2D Help
Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 12:42 pm
by slime
You should use the actual LÖVE wiki, instead of 3+ year old mirror.
https://love2d.org/wiki/Main_Page
Re: AnAL Love2D Help
Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 2:33 pm
by SpooneyH20
s-ol wrote:AnAL is an old outdated library that doesn't work with new LÖVE versions anymore (unless someone patched it, but I don't think anyone did). bartbes even took it off the github that is linked in that wiki page.
You might want to consider using
anim8 instead.
Just set up anim8, and was trying to run it with my spritesheet. I get this error every time:
Code: Select all
anim8.lua:59: There is no frame for x=3, y=1
I think it may be something wrong with my spritesheet?
Re: AnAL Love2D Help
Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 7:11 pm
by s-ol
SpooneyH20 wrote:s-ol wrote:AnAL is an old outdated library that doesn't work with new LÖVE versions anymore (unless someone patched it, but I don't think anyone did). bartbes even took it off the github that is linked in that wiki page.
You might want to consider using
anim8 instead.
Just set up anim8, and was trying to run it with my spritesheet. I get this error every time:
Code: Select all
anim8.lua:59: There is no frame for x=3, y=1
I think it may be something wrong with my spritesheet?
This just means that your numbers are wrong or maybe the spritesheet is a pixel too short etc. Basically anim8 can't find the frame at 3,1 in the image. Check that your grid sizes match up with the image size.