help with sound track... in game

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Post Reply
welpie21
Prole
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 5:41 pm

help with sound track... in game

Post by welpie21 »

hello i making a game with a function if you press f1 then its gonna play an audio ( music ).... but the problem is that i have 3 different audio's
and i want make a sort of a tracklist it with a script.... so the problem is the first audio ( music ) is working but the second not and the third not...

i will that the audio is repeating.....

sorry for my bad english.

this is my code.....

Code: Select all

if key == "f1" and love.audio.play(love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC.mp3")) then
				
		if love.audio.stop(love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC.mp3")) then
			love.audio.play(love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC_1.mp3"))

		end
		
		
		if love.audio.stop(love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC_1.mp3")) then
			love.audio.play(love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC_2.mp3"))
		end
		
		if love.audio.stop(love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC_2.mp3")) then
			love.audio.play(love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC.mp3"))
		end
	end
can somebody help me for solve this function....
User avatar
zorg
Party member
Posts: 3477
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Absurdistan, Hungary
Contact:

Re: help with sound track... in game

Post by zorg »

One of the simplest ways would be the following solution:

Code: Select all

local tracklist = {}
function love.load()
  tracklist[1] = love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC.mp3")
  tracklist[2] = love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC1.mp3")
  tracklist[3] = love.audio.newSource("Assets/sounds/BG_MUSIC/BG_MUSIC2.mp3")
  tracklist.current = 1
  tracklist.count = 3
  tracklist[tracklist.current]:play()
end

function love.update(dt)
  if tracklist[tracklist.current]:isStopped() then
    tracklist.current = (tracklist.current % tracklist.count) + 1
    tracklist[tracklist.current]:play()
  end
end
Though the transitions probably won't be seamless, unless your tracks have fadeouts.

Edit: davisdude is right, so i fixed this post. thanks :3
Last edited by zorg on Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Me and my stuff :3True Neutral Aspirant. Why, yes, i do indeed enjoy sarcastically correcting others when they make the most blatant of spelling mistakes. No bullying or trolling the innocent tho.
welpie21
Prole
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 5:41 pm

Re: help with sound track... in game

Post by welpie21 »

hello the code what you posted has an error...

main.lua:40: attempt to call field 'isStopped' (a nil value)


but if i change from this :

Code: Select all

if love.audio.isStopped(tracklist[tracklist.current]) then
		
		tracklist.current = (tracklist.current % tracklist.count) + 1
		tracklist[tracklist.current]:play()
	end
to this :

Code: Select all

if love.audio.stop(tracklist[tracklist.current]) then
		
		tracklist.current = (tracklist.current % tracklist.count) + 1
		tracklist[tracklist.current]:play()
	end
i got no error but the problem is the background music wont play
davisdude
Party member
Posts: 1154
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:29 am
Location: North Carolina

Re: help with sound track... in game

Post by davisdude »

What he meant was Source:isStopped (I'm assuming). love.audio.stop returns true because the song was successfully stopped, which is also why you can't hear it...
GitHub | MLib - Math and shape intersections library | Walt - Animation library | Brady - Camera library with parallax scrolling | Vim-love-docs - Help files and syntax coloring for Vim
User avatar
zorg
Party member
Posts: 3477
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Absurdistan, Hungary
Contact:

Re: help with sound track... in game

Post by zorg »

davisdude wrote:What he meant was Source:isStopped (I'm assuming). love.audio.stop returns true because the song was successfully stopped, which is also why you can't hear it...
Yep, i went ahead and edited my post, thanks again!
Me and my stuff :3True Neutral Aspirant. Why, yes, i do indeed enjoy sarcastically correcting others when they make the most blatant of spelling mistakes. No bullying or trolling the innocent tho.
welpie21
Prole
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 5:41 pm

Re: help with sound track... in game

Post by welpie21 »

zorg wrote:
davisdude wrote:What he meant was Source:isStopped (I'm assuming). love.audio.stop returns true because the song was successfully stopped, which is also why you can't hear it...
Yep, i went ahead and edited my post, thanks again!
thx for edit your code ... now it works ... it plays automaticly and if the music stops it goes to the next..... im very thankfull :D
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests