Page 1 of 1

Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 5:49 pm
by kungfushark
Does anyone know a way to run LOVE through the Windows 8 command prompt? I added LOVE to my PATH, but when I run it through the command prompt, it opens the "no game" screen, even when I try to pass it a directory as an argument.

Thanks for any possible help.

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 5:59 pm
by Robin
It might help if you showed what you typed exactly.

Does your directory path have spaces in it? If so, do you wrap it in ""?

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 6:07 pm
by kungfushark
Robin wrote:It might help if you showed what you typed exactly.

Does your directory path have spaces in it? If so, do you wrap it in ""?

What I typed was the following:

Code: Select all

love.exe C:\Users\hubba_000\Desktop\Code\Lua\Game dev\Invaders
I put the directory in quotes ("") and it worked fine. Thanks for your help.

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 6:17 pm
by davisdude
Just as a tip, IIRC you can also use "\ " to escape spaces, i.e. this should work:

Code: Select all

love.exe C:\Users\hubba_000\Desktop\Code\Lua\Game\ dev\Invaders

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 6:26 pm
by bobbyjones
Also the program is Löve not love2d

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 7:46 pm
by bartbes
davisdude wrote:Just as a tip, IIRC you can also use "\ " to escape spaces, i.e. this should work:

Code: Select all

love.exe C:\Users\hubba_000\Desktop\Code\Lua\Game\ dev\Invaders
Well no, backslashes separate directories on windows, they can't also escape spaces.

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 8:52 pm
by davisdude
bartbes wrote:Well no, backslashes separate directories on windows, they can't also escape spaces.
Huh. Apparently I did not recall correctly... it works like that on Vim anyways.

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 11:02 pm
by I~=Spam
Vim runs in unix-like shells so that means that "/" is used to separate directories. I think it is really weird that windows/dos uses a backslash not a forward slash... Oh well they cannot change that now. :P

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 11:17 pm
by davisdude
I don't think so... Whenever I enter files it delimits spaces and directories the same way. So the way I did above is how Vim works for me at least.

Anyway, this is getting kind of off-topic...

Re: Run love2d through command line

Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 3:23 am
by s-ol
davisdude wrote:I don't think so... Whenever I enter files it delimits spaces and directories the same way. So the way I did above is how Vim works for me at least.

Anyway, this is getting kind of off-topic...
it works like that, on unix(oid) systems.