Tile map scrolling

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
bcvery1
Prole

Tile map scrolling

Post by bcvery1 »

Hi, I'm relatively new to this, and have put together a maze generator (using the Randomized Prim's algorithm) with a player to navigate around the maze.

The maze generates fine, and I have created physics boxes for the walls and the player with no problem. I can get the player to move around the map, but the map, whilst scrolling at the same rate, is not moving the drawing range quickly enough. I.E. it is starting drawing an earlier tile than it should.

I realise that this is not that easy to explain in words, however if you run the file and move right/down (using wasd) you'll see the map stop drawing.

Have I missed out a +/- somewhere, or am I misunderstanding something about graphics.translate (or something else entirely!)?

Many thanks,
BCvery1
Attachments
MazePrim.love
(55.04 KiB) Downloaded 135 times
s-ol
Party member

Re: Tile map scrolling

Post by s-ol »

bcvery1 wrote:Hi, I'm relatively new to this, and have put together a maze generator (using the Randomized Prim's algorithm) with a player to navigate around the maze.

The maze generates fine, and I have created physics boxes for the walls and the player with no problem. I can get the player to move around the map, but the map, whilst scrolling at the same rate, is not moving the drawing range quickly enough. I.E. it is starting drawing an earlier tile than it should.

I realise that this is not that easy to explain in words, however if you run the file and move right/down (using wasd) you'll see the map stop drawing.

Have I missed out a +/- somewhere, or am I misunderstanding something about graphics.translate (or something else entirely!)?

Many thanks,
BCvery1
About physics bodies:
From love.physics on the wiki: