love.graphics.getModes

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Spec0pAssassin
Prole

love.graphics.getModes

Post by Spec0pAssassin »

Word of warning I'm rather new at this.

So what I want to do is just create a simple menu that includes a way to change your windows resolution by presenting a list of them to choose from but I don't quite understand how to use "love.graphics.getModes" and whatever other methods I need incorporate to achieve this. I've looked what I believe is a good example that uses "love.graphics.getModes" but it involved using kikito's middleclass library, and I haven't quite learned how to use or understand how peoples libraries work (oop? not there yet). I'd like to figure it out this way, if that can be explained, but am also curious if there are alternative ways to do this.

I'm rather new to programming and lua so I just can't understand it on my own and need some loving help. :crazy:
-Spec0pAssassin
Wait. What?
Lafolie
Inner party member

Re: love.graphics.getModes

Post by Lafolie »

You can use love.graphics.checkMode to do this.

Code: Select all

ratios = {800 / 600, 1440 / 900, 1960 / 1080}
supported = {fullscreen = {}}
for scale = 1, 6 do
	for k, ratio in ipairs(ratios) do
		local x = 320 * scale
		local y = x * ratio
		local key = tostring(x .. "x" .. y)
		local res = {width = x, height = y}
		if love.graphics.checkMode(x, y) then
			supported[key] = res
		end
		if love.graphics.checkMode(x, y, true) then
			supported.fullscreen[key] = res
		end
	end
end
--check for rogue resolution
local key = "1680x1050"
local res = {width = 1680, height = 1050}
if love.graphics.checkMode(1680, 1050) then
	supported[key] = res
end
if love.graphics.checkMode(1680, 1050, true) then
	supported.fullscreen[key] = res
end
Haven't tested this, but it should work.