Ok so how would I go about making a intro with a image which would fade to the main menu?
Also am a newbie, How do I create new frames and transition to them?
Requesting Help - INTROS
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
- TechnoCat
- Inner party member
- Posts: 1612
- Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:31 am
- Location: Milwaukee, WI
- Contact:
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
Draw the image with a full alpha on the screen after you draw the main menu. Then use dt to subtract from the alpha over a period of time. Sorry this is so high level, but maybe this helped.
The key function here is love.graphics.setColor(). setColor not only controls the color, but the alpha too.
The key function here is love.graphics.setColor(). setColor not only controls the color, but the alpha too.
Code: Select all
function love.load()
image = love.graphics.newImage("girl.jpg")
alpha = 255
end
function love.update(dt)
if alpha > 0 then
alpha = alpha - 40*dt
else
alpha = 0
end
end
function love.draw()
love.graphics.setColor(255,255,255,255)
love.graphics.print("MAIN MENU\nMAIN MENU\nMAIN MENU\nMAIN MENU",24,24)
love.graphics.setColor(255,255,255,alpha)
love.graphics.draw(image,0,0)
end
- Attachments
-
imagefade.love
- (251.07 KiB) Downloaded 114 times
-
- Prole
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 2:08 am
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
so say if I never had logo of the studio appear with that which works but if then I want the logo to appear from 0 alpha to 255 would I use ?
Currently here is my full game
Code: Select all
if(Logodraw > 255) then
Logodraw = Logodraw + 40*dt
else
alpha = 255
end
end
Code: Select all
function love.load()
love.graphics.setBackgroundColor(255,255,255)
CompanyLogo = love.graphics.newImage("CompanyLogo.png")
alpha = 255
MenuFont = love.graphics.setFont("FutureMillennium.ttf",12)
Soundtrack = love.audio.newSource("Soundtrack.mp3", "Stream")
love.audio.play(Soundtrack)
end
function love.update(dt)
if(alpha > 0) then
alpha = alpha - 40*dt
else
alpha = 0
end
end
if(Logodraw > 255) then
Logodraw = Logodraw + 40*dt
else
alpha = 255
end
end
function love.draw()
--//StartingIntro
love.graphics.setColor(255,255,255,alpha)
love.graphics.draw(CompanyLogo,280,80)
love.graphics.setColor(0,0,0,alpha)
love.graphics.print("We're Gamers too.",330,280)
--//FinshedIntro
logo = love.graphics.newImage("GT_G-Logo.png")
love.graphics.draw(logo,185,140)
end
- Jasoco
- Inner party member
- Posts: 3728
- Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 am
- Location: Pennsylvania, USA
- Contact:
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
You'll also need timing so that the menu doesn't appear until after the logo is gone.
The way I do it is the first say 7.5 seconds of the game runtime is the logo intro. When love.timer.getTime() > 7.5 then it changes the "gameMode" from 1 to 2 (Or whatever).
Inside my update and draw functions of course I have if then else conditions checking what the "gameMode" is and displaying the appropriate stuff. "gameMode" starts at 1 for "intro" and changes to 2 when the timer reaches 7.5. This is just an example to get you started.
And as TechnoCat said, dt is good for making stuff animate smoothly and in time. Basically you'd have the number of "whatevers" per second times Delta (td). Like if you want a character to move at a speed of 256 pixels per second, you'd do 256 * dt. So if you had it move, it would take 1 second to move 256 pixels. It works for whatever. Not just movement but timing too.
The way I do it is the first say 7.5 seconds of the game runtime is the logo intro. When love.timer.getTime() > 7.5 then it changes the "gameMode" from 1 to 2 (Or whatever).
Inside my update and draw functions of course I have if then else conditions checking what the "gameMode" is and displaying the appropriate stuff. "gameMode" starts at 1 for "intro" and changes to 2 when the timer reaches 7.5. This is just an example to get you started.
And as TechnoCat said, dt is good for making stuff animate smoothly and in time. Basically you'd have the number of "whatevers" per second times Delta (td). Like if you want a character to move at a speed of 256 pixels per second, you'd do 256 * dt. So if you had it move, it would take 1 second to move 256 pixels. It works for whatever. Not just movement but timing too.
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
Why dt as supposed to delta? I mean, you can name it whatever you want in the callback, so why not rename it for documentation purposes?
Good bye.
- TechnoCat
- Inner party member
- Posts: 1612
- Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:31 am
- Location: Milwaukee, WI
- Contact:
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
dt stands for delta time, and as far as I'm concerned it is the normal practice here.Luiji wrote:Why dt as supposed to delta? I mean, you can name it whatever you want in the callback, so why not rename it for documentation purposes?
- Jasoco
- Inner party member
- Posts: 3728
- Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 am
- Location: Pennsylvania, USA
- Contact:
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
Also, dt is just shorter and easy to remember. I actually pass it into my love.draw function too because my game requires some drawing stuff take advantage of delta as well. Which is why I love that I can customize the love.run function myself.
- bartbes
- Sex machine
- Posts: 4946
- Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
Of course there's always love.timer.getDelta() that you can call in love.draw.
To answer why dt, because it is a standard name.
To answer why dt, because it is a standard name.
- Robin
- The Omniscient
- Posts: 6506
- Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
Also, you'll have more luck if you change Logodraw > 255 to Logodraw < 255.JamiezRascall wrote:so say if I never had logo of the studio appear with that which works but if then I want the logo to appear from 0 alpha to 255 would I use ?
Code: Select all
if(Logodraw > 255) then Logodraw = Logodraw + 40*dt else alpha = 255 end end

Help us help you: attach a .love.
- Jasoco
- Inner party member
- Posts: 3728
- Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 am
- Location: Pennsylvania, USA
- Contact:
Re: Requesting Help - INTROS
Well, since I just put dt in the parenthesis for love.draw right in the custom love.run it works just as well as it does in love.update which also gets its dt from love.run.
This is my love.run(), isn't it beautiful?
Timer is placed in ti, Graphics is placed in gr. Confining dt to less than .2 was a way of trying to stop the occasional accidental "get stuck in walls" bug that kept happening occasionally when the game would freeze for a second due to processor hiccups. Not sure it fixed it though. It should probably be .02 instead, but since it rarely happens I can't test reliably. My audio functions are called if the Audio folder exists, which it doesn't when this is a demo uploaded since I leave audio out of the .love file to save bandwidth. It also creates a preference file on first run. If one doesn't exist it is considered the first run.
This is my love.run(), isn't it beautiful?
Code: Select all
function love.run()
screenModes = love.graphics.getModes()
if love.filesystem.exists("game/audio/") == false then enableAudio = false else enableAudio = true end
firstRun = false
if love.filesystem.exists("conf.lua") == false then
local sw = 640 sh = 480
createConfiguration(sw, sh)
local _ = gr.setMode(sw, sh, false, true, 0)
firstRun = true
end
love.load(arg)
local dt = 0
while true do
ti.step()
time = ti.getTime()
dt = ti.getDelta()
if dt > .2 then dt = .2 end
love.update(dt)
gr.clear()
love.draw(dt)
if love.event then
for e,a,b,c in love.event.poll() do
if e == "q" then
if love.audio then love.audio.stop() end
return
end
love.handlers[e](a,b,c)
end
end
ti.sleep(1)
gr.present()
end
end
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests