What Lua libraries are included in Love 0.8.0?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
fuxoft
Prole

What Lua libraries are included in Love 0.8.0?

Post by fuxoft »

Hello,

I have probably the opposite problem than most of people here. I already know Lua very well, I've been using it for many years, but I don't know almost anything about LOVE. I've been reading the Wiki and understand most of the LOVE libraries but I cannot find some of the most basic things. For example, I'd like to know which libraries are included in the default LOVE and what parts (if any) of the plain standard Lua are missing in LOVE or are implemented in a different way.

For example, by a mere accident, I found out that luasocket is included in LOVE. I also saw a LOVE example with string.find() function being called - neither of those is part of standard Lua. Is there some kind of basic list with ALL the extensions that are included in LOVE and are not part of default Lua? For example, bitwise operations, HTTPRequest library...?

Also, is there an official system to package custom compiled (i.e. not pure Lua) modules in Lua games? Or are all the modules mentioned LOVE pages written in pure Lua?

Thanks
slime
Solid Snayke

Re: What Lua libraries are included in Love 0.8.0?

Post by slime »

LÖVE includes standard Lua 5.1, luasocket, and its own love.* API. Nothing else. string.find is a standard Lua string library function.

You can use third party compiled Lua libraries with LÖVE (such as bitop), although the require function is only able to load compiled libraries which are in the game's save directory, the other default Lua require paths, and in the current working directory set when LÖVE is launched.