Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Showcase your libraries, tools and other projects that help your fellow love users.
User avatar
4aiman
Party member
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:30 am

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by 4aiman »

Umm... Is there anyone who can help with jumper?
User avatar
Roland_Yonaba
Inner party member
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:08 pm
Location: Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso)
Contact:

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by Roland_Yonaba »

4aiman wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:02 am Umm... Is there anyone who can help with jumper?
Sure. Just state what the problem is.
User avatar
4aiman
Party member
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:30 am

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by 4aiman »

Ummm...
Actually, I have found where my problems originated from:
- level map wasn't transposed prior to feeding it to the lib
- final location had to be walkable
:3


Thanks for the lib! :awesome:
(And sorry for the trouble :oops: )
User avatar
NobodysSon
Prole
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:37 pm

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by NobodysSon »

Is there a way to 'turn off' diagonal searching limiting the path to orthogonal moves only?
User avatar
4aiman
Party member
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:30 am

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by 4aiman »

According to the readme you should be able to.

Code: Select all

local path,length = myFinder:setFinder('ASTAR')
				   :setHeuristic('EUCLIDIAN')
				   :setMode('ORTHOGONAL')
				   :getPath(1,1,3,3)
https://github.com/Yonaba/Jumper/tree/jumper-1.8.1-1
User avatar
Roland_Yonaba
Inner party member
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:08 pm
Location: Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso)
Contact:

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by Roland_Yonaba »

Yes there is. With the latest stable version (1.8.1), you can turn off diagonal searching
But actually it will work fine with most of search algorithm, except Jump Point Search. I remember I had a lot of troubles to get it to work with JPS since the original algorithm were not defined in such a way it can handle orthogonal moves only. Finally I came up with something buggy for JPS, but which will be fixed in a next release of the library.
See the documentation about pathfinder:setMode() for more details.
User avatar
NobodysSon
Prole
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:37 pm

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by NobodysSon »

Thank you 4aiman and Roland_Yonaba both for your replies!

And thank you Roland_Yonaba especially for this great library :) I've been struggling to reinvent the pathfinding wheel myself for a game I'm working on and your library has saved it from abandonment.
User avatar
Roland_Yonaba
Inner party member
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:08 pm
Location: Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso)
Contact:

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by Roland_Yonaba »

Glad it serves you well. Keep an eye on Jumper anyway. The next release will feature a lot of new features and improvements.
User avatar
Jasoco
Inner party member
Posts: 3728
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Jumper : 2D Pathfinder with Jump Point Search (v.1.8.1)

Post by Jasoco »

I have a question about Jumper, I don't know if it's asked or not, and I don't know how to specifically word this but basically..

Is there a way to have certain tiles in the grid have a certain "resistance". For example, say I have a world map. It has water and grass and mountains and trees but it also has dirt paths. Obviously mountains and water are impassable, but could I set it so certain tiles, like the path tiles, have a lower resistance, but stuff like the grass is slightly higher resistance and trees are higher than that. So I can create a path, but have it prefer to follow the dirt paths, but if need be, use grass or tree tiles if there is no dirt path available? Or is the grid limited to a static 1 or 0, solid or passable?

I skimmed the thread and it seemed like it was being worked on? But I don't know how to use it. Is this still alive? I didn't know this thread was so old. lol
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 3 guests