Page 3 of 5

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:14 am
by Uhfgood
Don't know if anyone is still reading this thread but I want to organize some of my source files in folders. Is there a way to get it to look for main.lua in a folder that's higher up and still allow it to run when any lua file is the current tab?

for instance right now I have command.go.*.lua - so it will run it with any lua file -- however what if I have a source file in a folder... for instance c:\game\main.lua -- but the source file might be c:\game\source\somefile.lua -- when I have somefile.lua as the current tab in sciTE is there a way to make it say "ok go one folder up and you'll find main there" ?

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:09 am
by Hexenhammer
Personally I love SciTE. However, the editor is only as good as its configuration. This configuration is of course a matter of personal preference but configuring SciTE is not that simple. You have to manually edit the config files and for that you first need to understand what all that stuff in there actually means. Normal for *nix programmers, not exactly welcoming to the typical Windows user.

So I uploaded my pre-configured SciTE for Windows people (like myself), the most noticeable feature being its color scheme. The color scheme is a variant of Solarized. I call it "Ocean" and find it incredibly soothing. Here is a screenshot:

(Screenshot removed)

Here is the download link: http://www.mediafire.com/?8sjprzfkbj8srkb

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:16 pm
by spectralcanine
This thread seems to be 4 years old. :|

But since it's here, you can just put

Code: Select all

command.go.*.lua=start love.exe .
and any lua file in your root folder will run your game.

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:33 am
by Robin
That approach works if you don't use Lua for other things than LÖVE. :)

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Tue May 28, 2013 3:50 am
by Hexenhammer
Hexenhammer wrote:Personally I love SciTE. However, the editor is only as good as its configuration. This configuration is of course a matter of personal preference but configuring SciTE is not that simple. You have to manually edit the config files and for that you first need to understand what all that stuff in there actually means. Normal for *nix programmers, not exactly welcoming to the typical Windows user.

So I uploaded my pre-configured SciTE for Windows people (like myself), the most noticeable feature being its color scheme. The color scheme is a variant of Solarized. I call it "Ocean" and find it incredibly soothing. Here is a screenshot:

(Screenshot removed)

Here is the download link: http://www.mediafire.com/?8sjprzfkbj8srkb
I have updated my SciTE package to the newest version of SciTE (3.3.2). Except for that there are only two minor configuration changes. All files are now displayed in monospace by default (doesn't affect Lua coding, *.lua files were already displayed in monospace by default) and "Find in files" now defaults to "*.lua"

New download link: http://www.mediafire.com/download/vsyvj ... ite332.zip

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:10 pm
by Hexenhammer
Updated my customized SciTE to the newest version and made minor configuration changes. Keywords are no longer in bold and the fold margin background color was changed. I also made an additional color theme because I wanted a change.
The new theme is called Nightshade and is based on IntelliJ's Dracula theme.

Previews:


Nightshade
(Screenshot removed)

Ocean
(Screenshot removed)

Download links
Nightshade: http://www.mediafire.com/download/v72zh ... tshade.zip
Ocean: http://www.mediafire.com/download/3gz2g ... -Ocean.zip

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:42 pm
by Carotinho
Hi.

I'm new here, first message :neko:
I'm using Scite, too, but I've got this minor annoyance. When I run Löve, I'd like to see the standard output - such as that's coming from lua print() - in real time in the output pane. Right now I can only see it at the end of the execution: when I close the Löve program, the output pane is updated.
Is there a way to have the output pane updated in real time? I saw there's a message from someone else with this same question in the forums, but nobody answered, so I thought I could get better luck posting it here.

Thanks in advance,

Carotinho

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:33 am
by riidom
Hello,
try

Code: Select all

io.stdout:setvbuf("no")
at beginning of your code. I found this related to a differend IDE, but maybe it works in scite too.

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:14 pm
by Carotinho
Hi.

Yes, that did the trick. In fact I noticed that the output was somehow buffered. Very nice:) Should it be put in the wiki?

Thanks,

Carotinho

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 8:48 pm
by bartbes
I am very much of the opinion this is your editor's fault, since if it were to act as an actual terminal, your output wouldn't be buffered (fully buffered, anyway).