Disclaimer: I run this on android
Wait! Don't leave. It's still a weird problem that needs to be fixed, right ?
GPU:
Mali-T628 MP6
Android 6.01 if I got that right
What can cause love2d not to draw
- Gunroar:Cannon()
- Party member
- Posts: 1143
- Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 1:57 am
- slime
- Solid Snayke
- Posts: 3166
- Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:45 am
- Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
- Contact:
Re: What can cause love2d not to draw
Depending on where the underlying problem is, it might need to be fixed by the people who develop your phone's graphics drivers, rather than anyone here.Gunroar:Cannon() wrote: ↑Sat Sep 17, 2022 8:19 pm It's still a weird problem that needs to be fixed, right ?
- Gunroar:Cannon()
- Party member
- Posts: 1143
- Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 1:57 am
Re: What can cause love2d not to draw
Funny though that I've done quite a few (a lot) of projects there and this hasn't happened once, ...with an project....but this one.
Anyway as long as it works on PC and since you don't know what can cause this it's fine.
Anyway as long as it works on PC and since you don't know what can cause this it's fine.
Re: What can cause love2d not to draw
But if it happens only occasionally, how can it be a driver problem?
I would be also curious what exactly causing this. Maybe canvas, draw order or a shader or else.
Even though it is not drawn, as far the program concerned are the objects present and can you get their position, image, animation?
Wait, maybe it is the images are not finished loading and it is a filesystem operation problem? Can you check if it's not drawn on the screen, but you can still get the width and height of the image or is it nil?
I would be also curious what exactly causing this. Maybe canvas, draw order or a shader or else.
Even though it is not drawn, as far the program concerned are the objects present and can you get their position, image, animation?
Wait, maybe it is the images are not finished loading and it is a filesystem operation problem? Can you check if it's not drawn on the screen, but you can still get the width and height of the image or is it nil?
- Gunroar:Cannon()
- Party member
- Posts: 1143
- Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 1:57 am
Re: What can cause love2d not to draw
Is it possible?
Re: What can cause love2d not to draw
Well, I have No idea how loading works but I can imagine some sort of empty image data caused by slow filesystem maybe. As I mentioned I had similar problems with love.load where it failed to initialise objects, the game did run, did not crash but collision and controls did not work for example and it was caused by a delay with the execution of love.load.Is it possible?
Re: What can cause love2d not to draw
Wait, I thought love.load was a blocking function. How could the other love callback functions fire before love.load exited?
Any code samples/ideas by me should be considered Public Domain (no attribution needed) license unless otherwise stated.
Re: What can cause love2d not to draw
I seriously doubt that love.load was the cause. It's executed immediately after the top level of main.lua is run. It's more likely that it was a problem of misuse of locals (e.g. declaring variables local to love.load) or anything else, but moving execution from love.load to the top level should make no difference.
Re: What can cause love2d not to draw
pgimeno wrote:moving execution from love.load to the top level should make no difference.
Yes it is weird. I suspect my Antivirus interfere sometimes when I launch LÖVE, it is create the window but the window is black and there is nothing drawn on the screen for a few seconds like 5-10 seconds, once it is start drawing the screen all kind of weird staff was happening that made it look like love.update and love.draw did run BEFORE love.load completed.milon wrote:Wait, I thought love.load was a blocking function. How could the other love callback functions fire before love.load exited?
Since I moved everything out of love.load, I have never experienced this problem. No idea what is happening there with the AV and the delay.
It is not easy to reproduce usually happened maybe once every 20 times I launched my project.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest