Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
CubixPro
Prole
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:42 pm

Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by CubixPro »

I started using lua in a Love2D framework. I use bash and have downloaded love version 0.9.1 from bash.

Code: Select all

L = luaL_newstate()                                       
function love.draw()                                      
        love.graphics.print("Hello World",400,300)        
end                         
I executed this using love main.lua yet I'm getting sigsegv error.
Any help in this matter would be appreciated.
User avatar
pgimeno
Party member
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:58 pm

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by pgimeno »

What is bash, besides Bourne-Again SHell? What OS is this? What graphics card/driver?
CubixPro
Prole
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:42 pm

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by CubixPro »

I use Windows 10 with an Ubuntu subsystem. Bash is the terminal. And the graphics card is Intel HD Graphics.
grump
Party member
Posts: 947
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:43 pm

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by grump »

CubixPro wrote: Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:00 pm I use bash and have downloaded love version 0.9.1 from bash.
0.9.1 is horribly outdated. You should get a newer version.

Code: Select all

L = luaL_newstate()
You have this in your Lua file? Where did you get this from? I may be missing something here, but that's part of the Lua C API and has no place in Lua code. I don't think it's even defined in Lua.
CubixPro
Prole
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:42 pm

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by CubixPro »

So I installed love version 11.1 and removed the line 1 yet I keep getting the segmentation fault.
User avatar
zorg
Party member
Posts: 3465
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Absurdistan, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by zorg »

As a sanity check, does löve run fine if you try running it without any linux subsystem, and just with "vanilla" win10? Can you run your project like that?
Me and my stuff :3True Neutral Aspirant. Why, yes, i do indeed enjoy sarcastically correcting others when they make the most blatant of spelling mistakes. No bullying or trolling the innocent tho.
User avatar
pgimeno
Party member
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:58 pm

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by pgimeno »

And, does it run the no game screen if you just execute 'love' with no parameters?
CubixPro
Prole
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:42 pm

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by CubixPro »

pgimeno wrote: Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:37 pm And, does it run the no game screen if you just execute 'love' with no parameters?
Yes I tried this as well. Didn’t work.
CubixPro
Prole
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:42 pm

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by CubixPro »

zorg wrote: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:24 am As a sanity check, does löve run fine if you try running it without any linux subsystem, and just with "vanilla" win10? Can you run your project like that?
I mostly use bash and since it was installed in the subsystem, I’d have to download it for windows again.
zorg wrote: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:24 am just with "vanilla" win10?
Can you explain this part again?
User avatar
zorg
Party member
Posts: 3465
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Absurdistan, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Getting sigsegv error with only a printf statement

Post by zorg »

CubixPro wrote: Sun Oct 28, 2018 5:13 am
zorg wrote: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:24 am As a sanity check, does löve run fine if you try running it without any linux subsystem, and just with "vanilla" win10? Can you run your project like that?
I mostly use bash and since it was installed in the subsystem, I’d have to download it for windows again.
zorg wrote: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:24 am just with "vanilla" win10?
Can you explain this part again?
Then, for the sake of us helping you easier, do download it for windows and try it there.
Also, by vanilla, i meant exactly that, that you should forego the subsystem and try it on windows itself.
Me and my stuff :3True Neutral Aspirant. Why, yes, i do indeed enjoy sarcastically correcting others when they make the most blatant of spelling mistakes. No bullying or trolling the innocent tho.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests