Hello,
I'm new to Love and I'm trying to figure out how to get my game to run after I double click the love executable.
Is there any trick to do that? Do I have to recompile Love?
Thank you
Executing game by just running love.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Re: Executing game by just running love.
Read this http://love2d.org/wiki/Game_Distribution
Specifically under heading "Making an executable file out of a .love-file".
Specifically under heading "Making an executable file out of a .love-file".
- Robin
- The Omniscient
- Posts: 6506
- Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Executing game by just running love.
Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. 

Help us help you: attach a .love.
Re: Executing game by just running love.
So many .bats.... >_<Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe.
Hello, I am not dead.
- nevon
- Commander of the Circuloids
- Posts: 938
- Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 8:25 pm
- Location: Stockholm, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Executing game by just running love.
Silly Windows users.zac352 wrote:So many .bats.... >_<Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe.

Code: Select all
nevon@nevon-desktop:~/workspace/vbrawl$ love .
- Robin
- The Omniscient
- Posts: 6506
- Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Executing game by just running love.
Exactly. Well, the prompt's not the nicest one I could think off…
Help us help you: attach a .love.
- kikito
- Inner party member
- Posts: 3153
- Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:22 pm
- Location: Madrid, Spain
- Contact:
Re: Executing game by just running love.
@nevon: Silliness ~= ignorance
@zac352 & @rnodal:
consider adding the love.exe folder to your windows PATH so you can invoke it from any directory on the console.
Then you can open up a console and just do:
(Notice the dot at the end)
If you make changes, just press 'up' on the console (the love . will appear again) and enter. That is the fastest way to change-and-test on windows.
@zac352 & @rnodal:
consider adding the love.exe folder to your windows PATH so you can invoke it from any directory on the console.
Then you can open up a console and just do:
Code: Select all
cd your\game\dir
love .
If you make changes, just press 'up' on the console (the love . will appear again) and enter. That is the fastest way to change-and-test on windows.
When I write def I mean function.
Re: Executing game by just running love.
Another good Windows way:kikito wrote:That is the fastest way to change-and-test on windows.
In Windows Explorer (or really anywhere, even the desktop) go to any directory you want to execute Love from, right click on the background, then click New->Shortcut. It will ask what you want to create a shortcut for, point it to love.exe, name the shortcut whatever you want then click ok. Now right click on the newly created shortcut and go to Properties.
There should be a box there labeled Target with something like this in it:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\LOVE\love.exe"
Add your project path to the end of that line, enclosing it in a new pair of double quotes so that it looks like so:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\LOVE\love.exe" "C:\development\myloveproject"
Click Ok...you can now run your project just by double clicking that shortcut. If you want to create more Love project shortcuts, you can just copy and paste the first one you made, then just change the Target box to the new project path.
Re: Executing game by just running love.[SOLVED]
Thank you all for taking the time to answer.
I'm a linux user but I was developing the game under Windows over the weekend and I was a little bit lost.
I read the Wiki link (before I posted the question) but what I was looking for was the solution pointed by Simtex.
I don't think my wording was the best.
Once again,
Thank you all.
I'm a linux user but I was developing the game under Windows over the weekend and I was a little bit lost.
I read the Wiki link (before I posted the question) but what I was looking for was the solution pointed by Simtex.
I don't think my wording was the best.
Once again,
Thank you all.
Re: Executing game by just running love.
I hate using windows, but my computer doesn't have internet. I blame virgin mobile for making their hotspot unable to hook up to a router...nevon wrote:Silly Windows users.zac352 wrote:So many .bats.... >_<Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe.What's wrong with the following?
Code: Select all
nevon@nevon-desktop:~/workspace/vbrawl$ love .
Hello, I am not dead.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 2 guests