[UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Showcase your libraries, tools and other projects that help your fellow love users.
User avatar
qubodup
Inner party member
Posts: 775
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 9:21 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by qubodup »

rmcode wrote:the library can be renamed
Since you seem interested: I'm concerned with promoting love2d and its libraries. Immature names are a no-go for young (in case it's not obvious: because of parents and teachers) and professional ( see end of https://vimeo.com/89936101 ) audiences and can only be ignored. Renaming makes no sense if the documentation and ongoing development project has an unpromotable name.

If the issue was "I don't want to type an innuendo word while coding" - sure, renaming is a solution in that case.
lg.newImage("cat.png") -- made possible by lg = love.graphics
-- Don't force fullscreen (it frustrates those who want to try your game real quick) -- Develop for 1280x720 (so people can make HD videos)
User avatar
portify
Prole
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 10:15 pm
Location: Locating
Contact:

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by portify »

Looks nice. Seems pretty similar to something I've been working on as well.
qubodup wrote:Image
Image

Google's history-based personalization is fun :crazy:
User avatar
Nixola
Inner party member
Posts: 1949
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:11 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by Nixola »

portify wrote:Google's history-based personalization is fun :crazy:
yaoui.PNG
yaoui.PNG (34.51 KiB) Viewed 4737 times
Yes it is.
lf = love.filesystem
ls = love.sound
la = love.audio
lp = love.physics
lt = love.thread
li = love.image
lg = love.graphics
User avatar
qubodup
Inner party member
Posts: 775
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 9:21 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by qubodup »

Try Chrome incognito with a German IP address.
lg.newImage("cat.png") -- made possible by lg = love.graphics
-- Don't force fullscreen (it frustrates those who want to try your game real quick) -- Develop for 1280x720 (so people can make HD videos)
User avatar
ArchAngel075
Party member
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:16 am

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by ArchAngel075 »

Bit of an issue, No idea how to get LOVE 0.10.0, looked around and only 0.9.2 is on the LOVE repo.
Unless acquiring it is done some other way I am unsure...
User avatar
slime
Solid Snayke
Posts: 3161
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:45 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by slime »

There are various nightly builds of 0.10.0 available:
Keep in mind that it's not finalized and APIs may change at any time though. The in-progress changelog is on the wiki: [wiki]0.10.0[/wiki].
User avatar
ArchAngel075
Party member
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:16 am

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by ArchAngel075 »

been enjoying the default theme alot, has a very clean look.
Im struggling to figure out how to implement a way to scroll a visible view..
Either i can change its indexed objects (1 to 12 or how many it can fit) to be pointing to other objects in a larger array hoping it will instead render that object.

Any advice on implementing a scroll/slider object to translate a views contents on an axis?
User avatar
adnzzzzZ
Party member
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: Porto Alegre, Brazil

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by adnzzzzZ »

Haven't implemented that and I'm not sure I'm going to ever. If you wanna do it yourself you can put the objects that are already inside a Stack/Flow inside a Scrollarea from Thranduil. Check how I'm doing this on the Dropdown object, because I did it there preemptively but I ended up not actually enabling the scrolling part.
User avatar
raingloom
Prole
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:35 am
Location: Always elsewhere

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by raingloom »

and I thought Thranduil was my favourite library name :D
ok, tried running with love-hg from AUR on Arch Linux and it gives an error

Code: Select all

Error: yaoui/Timer.lua:4: module 'yaoui.Timer.timer' not found:
        no field package.preload['yaoui.Timer.timer']
        no 'yaoui/Timer/timer' in LOVE game directories.
        no file 'yaoui/Timer/timer.so' in LOVE paths.
        no file './yaoui/Timer/timer.lua'
        no file '/usr/share/luajit-2.0.4/yaoui/Timer/timer.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/yaoui/Timer/timer.lua'
        no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/yaoui/Timer/timer/init.lua'
        no file '/usr/share/lua/5.1/yaoui/Timer/timer.lua'
        no file '/usr/share/lua/5.1/yaoui/Timer/timer/init.lua'
        no file './yaoui/Timer/timer.so'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/yaoui/Timer/timer.so'
        no file '/usr/lib/lua/5.1/yaoui/Timer/timer.so'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
        no file './yaoui.so'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/yaoui.so'
        no file '/usr/lib/lua/5.1/yaoui.so'
        no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
stack traceback:
        [C]: in function 'require'
        yaoui/Timer.lua:4: in main chunk
        [C]: in function 'require'
        yaoui/init.lua:6: in main chunk
        [C]: in function 'require'
        main.lua:1: in main chunk
        [C]: in function 'require'
        [string "boot.lua"]:424: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:274>
        [C]: in function 'xpcall'
Based on a glance at the directory structure, I think it's an issue with cases.
It would be cleaner if you used the same capitalization as in the code, also, instead of copying the entire library into the example folder, you could modify the package.path variable or use symlinks (not sure how well Git supports them).
If you are interested, I have a utility script for handling package.path.
User avatar
raingloom
Prole
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:35 am
Location: Always elsewhere

Re: [UI Kit] yaoui (0.10.0 only)

Post by raingloom »

Indeed it was a case problem, but there is a different one: compatibility.
Instead of having it only run on Windows, why not conditionally enable platform specific features? :|
Especially since Löve is cross-platform.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests