Does anyone know a way to run LOVE through the Windows 8 command prompt? I added LOVE to my PATH, but when I run it through the command prompt, it opens the "no game" screen, even when I try to pass it a directory as an argument.
Thanks for any possible help.
Run love2d through command line
- Robin
- The Omniscient
- Posts: 6506
- Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Run love2d through command line
It might help if you showed what you typed exactly.
Does your directory path have spaces in it? If so, do you wrap it in ""?
Does your directory path have spaces in it? If so, do you wrap it in ""?
Help us help you: attach a .love.
-
- Prole
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 11:31 pm
Re: Run love2d through command line
Robin wrote:It might help if you showed what you typed exactly.
Does your directory path have spaces in it? If so, do you wrap it in ""?
What I typed was the following:
Code: Select all
love.exe C:\Users\hubba_000\Desktop\Code\Lua\Game dev\Invaders
Re: Run love2d through command line
Just as a tip, IIRC you can also use "\ " to escape spaces, i.e. this should work:
Code: Select all
love.exe C:\Users\hubba_000\Desktop\Code\Lua\Game\ dev\Invaders
GitHub | MLib - Math and shape intersections library | Walt - Animation library | Brady - Camera library with parallax scrolling | Vim-love-docs - Help files and syntax coloring for Vim
-
- Party member
- Posts: 730
- Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:46 pm
Re: Run love2d through command line
Also the program is Löve not love2d
- bartbes
- Sex machine
- Posts: 4946
- Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Run love2d through command line
Well no, backslashes separate directories on windows, they can't also escape spaces.davisdude wrote:Just as a tip, IIRC you can also use "\ " to escape spaces, i.e. this should work:Code: Select all
love.exe C:\Users\hubba_000\Desktop\Code\Lua\Game\ dev\Invaders
Re: Run love2d through command line
Huh. Apparently I did not recall correctly... it works like that on Vim anyways.bartbes wrote:Well no, backslashes separate directories on windows, they can't also escape spaces.
GitHub | MLib - Math and shape intersections library | Walt - Animation library | Brady - Camera library with parallax scrolling | Vim-love-docs - Help files and syntax coloring for Vim
Re: Run love2d through command line
Vim runs in unix-like shells so that means that "/" is used to separate directories. I think it is really weird that windows/dos uses a backslash not a forward slash... Oh well they cannot change that now.
My Tox ID: 0F1FB9170B94694A90FBCF6C4DDBDB9F58A9E4CDD0B4267E50BF9CDD62A0F947E376C5482610
Re: Run love2d through command line
I don't think so... Whenever I enter files it delimits spaces and directories the same way. So the way I did above is how Vim works for me at least.
Anyway, this is getting kind of off-topic...
Anyway, this is getting kind of off-topic...
GitHub | MLib - Math and shape intersections library | Walt - Animation library | Brady - Camera library with parallax scrolling | Vim-love-docs - Help files and syntax coloring for Vim
Re: Run love2d through command line
it works like that, on unix(oid) systems.davisdude wrote:I don't think so... Whenever I enter files it delimits spaces and directories the same way. So the way I did above is how Vim works for me at least.
Anyway, this is getting kind of off-topic...
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests