It loads models
it also has a lot of problems.
Here's some examples:
What it does is it takes any .obj from blender (must have triangulate faces on there) and then creates an object named whatever the .obj is called (minus the .obj). It can then be added and displayed with wireframe and culling.
Some problems of course that I seem to have trouble with are:
-polygons/objects behind other polygons/objects
-for some reason weird things happen when having more than one object of the same model
-texturing, Has issues. It's very laggy, and some problems with getting it straight. May have to use quads instead of mesh
(Although I'm sure the problem is the mesh object is created every frame)
Here's the repository that I work with: [REPOSITORY]
I'd like to thank a few people just for jumping my progress.
-Oysi, For his hacksy way of getting things behind the camera not to draw. And rotation matricies. He's around here somewhere.
-Jamie King, I like his videos, but I watched his culling video and implemented it easy just by him showing resources and walking through it.
-Kieth Peters, introduced me to translation and the transition from 2D space to 3D space.
-Munkee Bacon, he's around here somewhere. A special thanks for making the transition from concept Lua to applied Löve2D much easier for me and many others.
ModelLoader
- Zilarrezko
- Party member
- Posts: 345
- Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:50 am
- Location: Oregon
ModelLoader
Last edited by Zilarrezko on Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:12 am, edited 3 times in total.
Re: ModelLoader
Looks great! Would love to see some code if you feel comfortable sharing?
Last edited by davisdude on Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
GitHub | MLib - Math and shape intersections library | Walt - Animation library | Brady - Camera library with parallax scrolling | Vim-love-docs - Help files and syntax coloring for Vim
- Zilarrezko
- Party member
- Posts: 345
- Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:50 am
- Location: Oregon
Re: ModelLoader
No problem, there it is. I believe in free software. I also believe in giving credit where credit is due.davisdude wrote:Looks great! Would love to see some code if you feel comfortable sharing!
-
- Prole
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:22 pm
Re: ModelLoader
Awesome work! I am doing something similar to just dust off my 3D math - would LOVE to see 2 things:
- This code on Github, so I can go through commits and see history of where you made conscious changes to things
- Links to the posts, videos, or readings that each contributor has helped you out with
Thanks for sharing!
- This code on Github, so I can go through commits and see history of where you made conscious changes to things
- Links to the posts, videos, or readings that each contributor has helped you out with
Thanks for sharing!
- Zilarrezko
- Party member
- Posts: 345
- Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:50 am
- Location: Oregon
Re: ModelLoader
Thanks man. if you can see in the .love the other junk, you can see I'm working on a bunch of stuff. Currently the 3D model viewer isn't a priority. But I do plan later to overhaul it, by using conventional matrices and vectors and better coordinate system. Although I'm of course having trouble with some things. Hopefully I can find fixes for them when I'm doing the overhaul.JaredSartin wrote:Awesome work! I am doing something similar to just dust off my 3D math - would LOVE to see 2 things:
- This code on Github, so I can go through commits and see history of where you made conscious changes to things
- Links to the posts, videos, or readings that each contributor has helped you out with
Thanks for sharing!
As for links, they're all already in the OP. Kieth Peters got me to get from 2D to 3D. And Oysi pushed it off, and I got culling from Jamie King. Unless you mean the specific videos.
Re: ModelLoader
Neat stuff!
Not too good at shaders.
Love file says my graphics card doesn't support shaders.
If I comment out all the lines in shader.glsl that begin with '#', everything seems to work OK.
Not too sure why this should be.
Edit: My bad! Seems I had disable the shader to get the wireframes. All other shaders posted in Love have worked for me so don't know what the problem is.
Not too good at shaders.
Love file says my graphics card doesn't support shaders.
If I comment out all the lines in shader.glsl that begin with '#', everything seems to work OK.
Not too sure why this should be.
Edit: My bad! Seems I had disable the shader to get the wireframes. All other shaders posted in Love have worked for me so don't know what the problem is.
- Zilarrezko
- Party member
- Posts: 345
- Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:50 am
- Location: Oregon
Re: ModelLoader
Yeah not like it matters. At this point I can only get every pixel to change color, regardless of any textures. Not even sure how I'm suppose to use shaders in a 3D engine... I can't even do Per Fragment lighting right now. But interesting... not sure why because I don't have a lot of experience with shaders. But maybe because I put both vertex and fragment shaders in one file? I doubt it but maybe.Ref wrote:Neat stuff!
Not too good at shaders.
Love file says my graphics card doesn't support shaders.
If I comment out all the lines in shader.glsl that begin with '#', everything seems to work OK.
Not too sure why this should be.
Edit: My bad! Seems I had disable the shader to get the wireframes. All other shaders posted in Love have worked for me so don't know what the problem is.
Re: ModelLoader
Found out why I got the error message indicating that my GPU didn't support Shaders.
It was the conf.lua file.
Eliminating this file (and the unnecessary require) solved (for some unknown reason) this problem for me and I now get the red pixel effect when pressing f1.
It was the conf.lua file.
Eliminating this file (and the unnecessary require) solved (for some unknown reason) this problem for me and I now get the red pixel effect when pressing f1.
- Zilarrezko
- Party member
- Posts: 345
- Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:50 am
- Location: Oregon
Re: ModelLoader
Oh yeah, I wanted to see if requiring the conf file would give me access to things... My bad, not only did it not work but of course unnecessary haha, sorry. But you had to delete the conf folder for it to work? If I have to delete the conf folder... than I'm puzzling. I guess I could just control everything through an option menu. Are you using Mac? or a distribution other than ubuntu? (It seems to run fine on my Linux, Ubuntu Laptop)Ref wrote:Found out why I got the error message indicating that my GPU didn't support Shaders.
It was the conf.lua file.
Eliminating this file (and the unnecessary require) solved (for some unknown reason) this problem for me and I now get the red pixel effect when pressing f1.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 5 guests