Hi,
I don't know if anybody else has had this happen, but I feel like there probably is. If there was already a post on this, I couldn't find it, so I'm sorry. I was working for a while on a game on an old copy of love, and got pretty close to completion. Unfortunately, I had to format my hard drive and reinstall my OS recently, so I backed up the game, and once windows was running again, I reinstalled love. Now, whenever I try to boot up my old game, it just gives a blank screen, without a title or anything for my game, just a black screen called "untitled." Is this a version problem, am I going to have to do some editing, or am I just missing something?
Thanks
Can't run old game
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
- bartbes
- Sex machine
- Posts: 4946
- Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Can't run old game
There was a pretty big API change between 0.5.0 and 0.6.0, thus any game made for 0.5.0 or earlier won't run on 0.6.0 or higher.
Re: Can't run old game
I'd say you should check Porting Your LÖVE to Zero Point Six Point Zero [0.6.0] topic and Automatically converting 0.5.0 games to 0.6.0 + check docs. If you are lucky (depends on your code) you could probably update your game quite quickly to 0.6.x. Good luck
-
- Prole
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:02 am
Re: Can't run old game
Hey thanks a lot, the auto-convert didn't work so I'm converting it over by hand little by little. Quick question, what are we using for include now? I'm getting errors with love.filesystem.include.
Re: Can't run old game
Try
The parentheses at the end are important - require returns a function to execute the loaded file. The parentheses execute it.
Code: Select all
love.filesystem.load("filename")()
Last edited by bartbes on Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: It's load, not require, thought I'd fix it for you
Reason: It's load, not require, thought I'd fix it for you
- Robin
- The Omniscient
- Posts: 6506
- Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Can't run old game
Could you tell me what exactly went wrong?imyourhero wrote:Hey thanks a lot, the auto-convert didn't work so I'm converting it over by hand little by little.
If you get a lot of warnings, that's ok: the whole purpose of it is showing what you need to change, so you can do it. That's the way I choose to make it, because fully automatic conversion might just ruin your project, by over-eagerly replacing things.
It is also a useful tool if you are converting your game by hand, and you want to know how much there is left to do.
EDIT: If you want to replace all the constants of type love.type_constant to "constant": running hand-holder.lua with option -a enables aggressive mode, which automatically replaces any old-style constants left.
Help us help you: attach a .love.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests