SOLVED Getting 'Black'screen

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Post Reply
Lazzaro
Prole
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:45 pm

SOLVED Getting 'Black'screen

Post by Lazzaro »

Okay, get ready for noobness. I am a beginner and I'm having some issues in a project that is barely a scratch. Here goes the code
love.graphics.setColor(0, 0, 0, 255 )
love.graphics.rectangle("fill", 0, 400, 800, 300 )
So, I'm using that as the first basis of my game's floor (it's a platformer)
When the game starts it will load the background, that floor correctly at first... but then BLACKSCREEN
I know the error is in those lines because if I make that setColor to any color, let's say green the Blackscreen will become a greenscreen
So, I dont know if thats a bug or something. If it is I just warned you guys I guess
Any helps please? Sorry for being such a noob... i cry every night cause of it
(Any grammar mistakes? I'm not american or Brittish. don't grammar hammer me, pls)
Last edited by Lazzaro on Tue Jun 04, 2013 11:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Jasoco
Inner party member
Posts: 3726
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Getting 'Black'screen

Post by Jasoco »

We need more. Is that code in love.draw?
User avatar
Plu
Inner party member
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:36 pm

Re: Getting 'Black'screen

Post by Plu »

It'd help if you could include a .love file for us so we can see the rest of the code. That's quite a big rectangle, but it shouldn't cover everything. Do you have a camera or something that's focussing on the wrong area maybe?
User avatar
bartbes
Sex machine
Posts: 4946
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Getting 'Black'screen

Post by bartbes »

You need to set the color to white again, afterwards, probably.
User avatar
Plu
Inner party member
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:36 pm

Re: Getting 'Black'screen

Post by Plu »

That's actually a good guess... if you don't set the color back to white the game will draw everything in pitchblack, even images and text and such.
Lazzaro
Prole
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Getting 'Black'screen

Post by Lazzaro »

Hey it's me thanks to bartbes and Plu I got to correct it
sorry for anything
thanks a lot guys.
bartbes wrote:You need to set the color to white again, afterwards, probably.
Plu wrote:That's actually a good guess... if you don't set the color back to white the game will draw everything in pitchblack, even images and text and such.
:awesome:
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests